Star Trails

Star trails
Star trails streak across the night sky

I don’t live in a dark sky area. I live in a busy city, with a large population, and close to an airport. The airport is about two miles away from my house. I know exactly what light pollution is.

I’ve always had an interest in photographs of the night sky, but living so close to the airport any images I take have an orange cast to them. Getting a black sky is difficult and seeing stars, more so. Still, it is possible and I thought I’d give it a go. Last night was a very crisp and clear evening, plenty of the constellations could be viewed by the naked eye. I decided to give it a try.

I set up the camera on the tripod, pointed it as the sky, set the intervalometer, and left it all clicking away. The image you see has been adjusted for colour balance  and I had to bring the black point in a bit to darken the sky. It is a blend of 230 30 second exposure images. This was done with the wonderful StarStaX software.

6 thoughts on “Star Trails

    1. Thank you. I really would like to try this same technique somewhere dark. Somewhere out away from the bright lights of the city where the stars shine bright.

  1. Just saw this after your timelapse and its great, I can see you have the skills to produce some amazing night photography and timelapse. If your ever find the time to head into the hills for night shooting and want some company then feel free to give me a shout, had lots of camping and hiking experience. Just come back from a few days on the Isle of Skye/highlands and am delighted with the landscape and night time photographs i took, its such a beautiful location.
    And finally….last i heard you could book a group to visit Manchester observatory and take along your canon dslr, they have adapters to attach it to the telescope. Its reasonably priced if a group of 8-12 people go along.

    1. A lot more effort is required on my behalf, for sure.

      The Manchester observatory thing sounds very interesting. Just my kind of thing. I’ll be sure to look into that. Thanks for the tip off Ken.

Leave a Reply

