First photoshoot. A day in the studio with Sinopa Rin.

Those of you that follow me on Twitter, @computerdan for those that don’t, will know that for the past four weeks I’ve been in the process of arranging some studio time to photograph a professional model who’s arranging a tour of Manchester. You will also be aware that I have been a compete bag of nerves about the whole thing. Emotions up and down like a yo-yo, so far outside of my comfort zone I needed a compass and map to find my way back.

Well Saturday was the big day. Was I nervous? Of course I was.

I arrived at the studio 20 minutes early. As it turns out I was actually an hour and 20 minutes early due to a slight miscommunication issue. The studio owner let me in, and let me have a look around whilst I was waiting. So what to do to amuse myself for 80 minutes? Yup, start taking selfies.

5T5A3088

 

As it happens the time alone in the studio was invaluable. It let me get used to the environment, figure out how to make the lights work, attach and detach the different light modifiers, and just generally get into the swing of things.

Then Rin arrived. I was polite and courteous as always, but more than a little terrified. I told her. No point pretending that I’m Mr Cool Photography Man. Well I needn’t have worried. Rin was an absolute delight. Charming and amusing, she poses with grace and elegance.

Here are some of the results.

"The years will never take awayOur chance to start anewIt's on Push up the level the heavens will fight for me "To gild refined gold, to paint the lily ... is wasteful and rid

I had a session booked with Rin in the morning, and some more time in the afternoon. I’d already written of any chance of getting good images in the morning session. Just use it as a learning experience, getting used to the environment, trying not to drop my camera, remembering how to breathe, that sort of thing. I needn’t have worried as you can see from the images above.

Our morning session finished all too soon. Time for me to return home, calm down, take a valium, and gather my frayed nerves. I downloaded the images from the first session to have a look. Hey, not bad. Not bad at all. There were some good ones. Some really good ones. It turns out that all the money I’ve spent on photography books, time spent reading blog posts and articles, and watching instructional videos on YouTube were a waste of time. The way to get good photos is to get Rin in front of the lens and press the button. Easy.

Time came for the second session. We decided to try some more head shots and fashion images. Like this.

Between the lines of fear and blame you begin to wonder why you

Here she comes now arms dance together in the fall

We spent some time in the “infinity room” at the studio getting these and other images. There was chatting. Lots of chatting. Rin really did put me at ease with her relaxed conversation and the photos I think are great.

We finished off downstairs and headed back up to the main studio area. I had taken the head shots and full length fashion portraits I was after, but we still had time together. I was completely out of ideas. In a desperate attempt to appear creative I said “Girl in a chair?”

... and if I show you my dark side, will you still hold me tonig

... and if I open my heart to you, show you my weakness, what wo

Rin did her stuff and created some incredible poses, always adding that extra touch of dynamism to the images. But now I really am running on empty, creatively speaking.

This is when something magical happened. I found out just what it was like to spend some time in the company of a true creative. Rin took control of the session and idea after idea just flowed from her imagination. Things I would never have thought of, outside any perceived framework I had in my mind.

Me: “Piano?”

Rin: “I’ll climb on top of it.”

Implied piano

Rin then walks outside of the designated studio space and into the reception areas and starts rearranging the furniture, sits on the floor.

Me: “Are we even allowed to be here?”

Rin: “Blow the background out and take a picture.”

The sparkle in your eyes  Keeps me alive

Between the lines of fear and blame you begin to wonder why you

 

Rin: “Do you have a 50mm lens?”

Me: “Errrmmm, yes ….”

Rin: “Get under the net.”

5T5A3320editweb

5T5A3325editweb

 

Rin: “This will look great in black and white”, as she lies prone on the floor, head hiding behind a wall.

Push me to the floor, don't give up until I'm begging you for moI thought that I was going to be spending time with a model. I had no idea I’d also meet a muse, therapist, and a really genuinely lovely person. I would like to thank Rin for helping me create some beautiful photographs, some of the best I’ve ever been involved in capturing, for a wonderful day, but mostly for opening my mind to possibilities.

5 thoughts on “First photoshoot. A day in the studio with Sinopa Rin.

  1. I follow your posts with interest Danny and i am pleased that your first studio-model-photo-shoot went so well. The shots are fantastic and it’s easy to see why you are so delighted with the results.
    Keep your inspiring posts coming. All the best.

Leave a Reply

