Wandering around the Northern Quarter with HannahLee

Flushed with enthusiasm and rebuilt confidence, make that Rinbult, after my first photo shoot I was ready to take on the world. Ok, not quite the world, but certainly Manchester’s Northern Quarter.

HannahLee and I arranged to meet at Piccadilly Gardens and the plan was simply to “Mooch around the Northern Quarter, and look for some interesting backgrounds and graffiti”. I arrived at the rendezvous point early, but it wasn’t long until Hannah arrived. I approached her:

Me: “Hello, it’s Danny.”

Hannah: “Who?”

Me: “The photographer. For the photo shoot?”

Possibly Not Hannah: “I have no idea what you’re talking about?”

Me: “Are you Hannah?”

Definitely Not Hannah: “Ermmm, no. I think you have me mixed up with somebody else.”

I sheepishly returned to my waiting point, and eventually the real Hannah arrived, looking particularly splendid. We got to have a bit of a natter whilst walking to the area, and seemed to gel well.

Before long we saw a wall with some graffiti and got started.

Now I already know what my biggest issue when photographing models is going to be. I’m going to want to take head shots. Lots and lots of head shots. I have to break out of this framework. So, let’s try something a little more full length. Hannah bravely climbed up a small wall and sat there looking pretty. Very pretty actually.

5T5A3477

Ok, what next? I know. Find a different background and take another head shot.

5T5A3567

I’m going to have to watch this. Can’t be taking head shots all the time. Got to try something different. On Hannah’s suggestion we popped into Affleck’s, a department store that sells different and alternative styles of clothes, fetish fashions, piercings. You get the picture. I decided to try something a little more edgy, so used a bare flash, hastily attached to a handrail on the staircase, and we came up with this.

5T5A3575

My creativity no knows no bounds. I am a master of lighting. No. Not really. Too far outside of my comfort zone. I’ll retreat back to the safety of the headshot.

5T5A3617

 

5T5A3685

These images represent a landmark moment for me. I’ve been carrying around a five-in-one reflector with for five years and this is the first time I’ve ever actually used it. I like it, especially on the second image. I shall do this more often. It is also the first time I’ve ever asked a young woman to accompany me down a dark alleyway. Ok, that’s not true, but it is the first time in 20 years.

How about a bit of flash and the reflector? That sounds advanced. What’s the worst that can happen?

5T5A3690

Looks like I’ve reverted to type. Head shot bonanza. I understand I need to show a little more variation, but you need to answer this question: How am I not supposed to take head shots when the model looks this good?

5T5A3715

 

5T5A3784It’s not possible! Hannah is simply beautiful and I have to try to capture that.

5T5A3829

Just as the session was drawing to a close I finally had a creative idea. Something a little different to try, other than the beauty portraits. A flash of inspiration and I suggested Hannah should “Sit on the floor”, so you know, it’s not all just head shots.

5T5A3807

Thanks to Hannah for a lovely day. It was great trying to capture your beauty. You’re a delight to work with and I wish you all the very best of luck for your future.

6 thoughts on “Wandering around the Northern Quarter with HannahLee

    1. Hello. Thanks for that. Yes, not sure what I’ve done to deserve the recognition on PP but am thrilled and delighted with the warm reception I seem to be getting. Not sure how long it’ll last though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

