Pretty In Pink – Wandering around the park with Senade

A fortnight ago I had my third photoshoot, a few hours in the park with a model named Tiger Hula Hula Lilly, or Senade as she is sometimes known.

The reason I contacted Ms Lilly about the shoot was the comment “This for me is not a serious career, I’m more curious and interested in getting some nice photos done if anything” on her portfolio. Perfect model for me. Contact was made, and the shoot arranged. I’d been to the agreed location the week before for a little scout around. Very pleased I did this as it gave me ideas for the type of shots we’d get, and the look and feel of the entire photo shoot.

The day came, Tiger arrived, pleasantries were exchanged, coffee was consumed, snacks and refreshments proffered, and we got going.

5T5A3876

Yes, I’m starting off safely with a head shot. Readers of previous posts may have guessed this. Hula Hula has the most incredible pink colour in her hair as you can see. So of course I’ve created a load of black and white images. Stupid man.

5T5A3881

We wandered around the park and found a nice bench.

5T5A3899

And then a bridge.

5T5A3920

Hula Lilly (still not sure which name to use) was really helpful, keen to get some good shots, and was playing around with some different poses. We were both a bit inexperienced if I’m honest but she took my inexpert direction well. Then as THHL was leaning from a nearby prop her hair fell down. A switch went off in my head.

“Stop. Stay there. Lean back. Tilt your head again. Look to me.”

5T5A3967

This is without doubt my favourite image from the set. It also made me feel like a “proper photographer” for spotting the opportunity for the photo and giving direction to my model. I’m pleased with this image.

And this one too.

5T5A3985

And of course we have a couple more head shots to finish.

5T5A4027

5T5A4091

I had a really lovely day, and found out something new. It turns out that not all models like Jaffa Cakes. Good job I’d brought shortbread as an alternative.

Thanks for reading, and thanks in advance for any comments you care to make.

2 thoughts on “Pretty In Pink – Wandering around the park with Senade

Leave a Reply

