October Photo Challenge

When it comes to new projects I am a very enthusiastic starter. I always throw myself into the task with vim and vigour, learning as much as I can about the subject matter, getting started, finding out what I’ll need to do to get on with things. However, those that know me, and know me well, will already be aware that when it comes to finishing said projects, I am less than successful. My life is littered with examples of new hobbies, skills, computer programs, and a while host of new ideas that have been started well, but once I’ve figured out how it all works, understood the concept, or made a good start, I’ve lost interest and gone on to find the next new thing.

So, when super amazing and talented muse, model, photographer, and all round good egg Sinopa Rin suggested I should take part in the October Photo Challenge I was a little hesitant. The idea is that there is a set theme for each day, and you upload an image related to that theme. I was keen, but then I always am with new tasks, but a little reluctant because of my track record of never finishing things. Then I got a grip of myself: it’s only a few photos and it’s only for one month. I can do this yes? Easy.

It was decided that the best place to share the images with the world would be Instagram. I downloaded the app, set up an account, and got started.

Well here we are on the final day of October, and therefore the challenge. How have I done? Well I’m delighted to report that I have uploaded an image each and every day for the challenge – today excepted, but due to the theme for today, Trick or Treat the best photo is to be taken later when the little ones come knocking on the door looking to scare me and procure some sweeties.

The fact that I have applied myself to the challenge thrills me. I’ve thought about each theme, sometimes on the day, others planning my image in advance. It’s been great for me to work through something and not only start, but to get right through to the end. That was the challenge for me and I’m delighted to get there. I would like to say thank you to Ms Rin who also took part in the challenge for the nudge to get started, to my truelove for helping out with suggestions, ideas, and the occasional work as photo assistant, and to all of my Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook friends and followers for the encouragement along the way. It’s have been a delight.

In no particular order, here is a selection of some of my favourite images from the challenge.

Image of me holding a wine glass. In the background a clock is showing the time of eight o'clock
Day 23: Eight o’clock
A model, Amy, is shown in the photographic studio from a great hight, making her look smaller than her five foot one and three quarters of an inch height.
Day 25: Small
A dinner plate is shown, two pieces of toast with scrambled egg on, and some mushrooms on the side.
Day 29: Full
My collection of Lego mini figures, all neatly presented standing on a chessboard
Day 17: Collection
A tiny snail makes it's him underneath the petals and on the stem of a plant. I think it's an elderberry but may be mistaken.
Day 4: Up
Four images of plants and moss growing out of cracks in concrete
Day 21: Growing
A close up image of a crisp leaf, fallen from the tree, lying on the grass.
Day 10: Crisp
Image of me juggling apples, keeping them up in the air
Day 4: Up
A tin of Lyle's golden syrup
Day 8: Golden
4 thoughts on “October Photo Challenge

Leave a Reply

