What a difference a day makes

I was feeling more than a little down about my photography. I wasn’t booking any models to work with, and had turned down a couple of offers of work from models who wanted my style images in their portfolio. Not really sure what had caused this negativity on my part, but I did realise that this slump had got hold of me, and I was bereft of idea on how to fix it. My portfolio wasn’t up to date and seemed to be going nowhere. What to do? Upload some images to social media and take some time away.

On Thursday I uploaded this image to a photography group on Facebook.

Classical beauty
Classical beauty

And then on Friday I uploaded this image to my Flickr account

Urban chic
Urban chic

Yesterday I had a look at the statistics on how these images had performed on social media. I was floored. The first image was incredibly popular on Facebook and had out performed any other image I have ever uploaded there, with more likes, loves, and reactions than anything else I’d posted.

The second image had been Explored on Flickr. For those that don’t know, Explore is Flickr’s way of showcasing the best and most interesting photographs each day. There are usually over 8 million photographs uploaded to Flickr each day, and only 500 of those are chosen for Explore. To be chosen for Explore your an image really must catch the attention of those that choose them.

Well I was delighted. Truly thrilled to receive so much love and attention. My notifications on both sites went crazy, and my statistics on Flickr are booming like never before.

Needless to say any negative feelings I was having towards model photography were banished instantly, and I have already started the process of arranging another photoshoot.

Regular readers of this blog will recognise the model in both of these images. It is Sinopa Rin who has been a great ally and constant source of inspiration throughout my photographic journey. For those wanted to get started in model photography she comes with the highest possible recommendation from me. You can view Sinopa’s portfolio here.

I know this story takes place over the course of three days but I just wanted to use the Dinah Washington inspired title. You’ll allow me a little poetic licence won’t you?

Leave a Reply

